Calculating ACP/Lifeline Eligibility Using Tidycensus

Hello all,
I'm trying to put together some state-level estimates of household eligibility for the American Connectivity Program. The eligibility requirements (sheet 2)are essentially the same as for Lifeline, but the income to poverty ration is 200%, rather than 135. I'm running this analysis for all states, but am just focusing on Alabama in this example. The estimate of eligible households produced (AL.pums) is much lower than expected compared to 2021 eligibility estimates in this dataset from USAC (sheet 1) (USAC manages Lifeline). I realize this is a really specific issue, but since this is my first time working with the PUMS data I have a feeling I may have made an error along the way. Thanks in advance for any help with this!

library(tidyverse)
library(tidycensus)
census_api_key(Sys.getenv("CENSUS_API_KEY"))

pums_vars <- c("HINS4", "FS", "PAP", "SSIP", "POVPIP")

all_pums <- get_pums(variables = pums_vars, state = "AL", year = 2020,
survey = "acs5")

AL.pums <- all_pums %>%
#filter records that meet eligibility requirements
subset(HINS4 == 1 | FS == 1 | PAP == 1:30000 | SSIP == 1:30000 | POVPIP == 0:200) %>%
subset(SPORDER == 1) %>% #retain just one record per household
summarize(hh_eligible = sum(WGTP)) #calculate total number of households eligible
Parents
  • Dear Christine to get back to your question about 0 household weights WGTP: 0 Weights are group quarters, e.g. college dorm, nursing home, prison, military barracks etc.  The group quarters codes are here:

https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/tech_docs/code_lists/2021_ACS_Code_Lists.pdf

see pdf page 31 for detailed group quarters codes.

Note due to disclosure avoidance only the institutional/non-institutional breakdown is in the PUMS file variable TYPEHUGQ

Here is the cross tabulation for 1 PUMA/PUMS file  Since you use R, here is the R code

State 25 Massachusetts PUMA 03304 (Part of Boston?? -- quite a few College dormitories)