Large Difference in Ward Population with ACS v. Census

This is my first time trying to apply ACS data to a separate geography. I'm working on trying to get various ACS data (home ownership, incomes, etc.) for Chicago's new wards. I'm using R and set up a population weighted interpolation using 2021 ACS tract-level data and weighting by the 2020 block population. I ran it with just a general total population number (DP05_0001), and I found the ward populations were substantially off from the those presented with the redistricting (wards varied approx. -8%-15%).

To make sure it wasn't me doing something wrong, I ran the same tract level interpolation with tract-level population data from the 2020 Census. The numbers are almost identical to those presented with the redistricting. So at least I know it's the data and not me coding something wrong. The city-wide 2021 ACS population is about 1.5% lower than the 2020 census.  

My questions is this: is this large a difference normal and (if knowable) which would likely be more accurate? I know differences in who is counted as a resident, methods, etc. will cause the Census and ACS data to not match, but I was just surprised at just how far off it was. It makes me question if either the analysis I am doing is really valid, or alternatively the entire redistricting process was entirely unreliable. 

• I would use 2020 blocks from PL94 to assemble the wards. With tracts that overlap borders you’re leaving too much to chance, hoping population is distributed consistently and it’s not always. It sounds like you have shape files of the wards so you can just overlay them on blocks to get the right block lists —Tim Henderson