c27007, Medicaid / means tested public coverage, what's means-tested

Hi all. 

Table c27007 is "Medicaid / means-tested public coverage".  What exactly is "means-tested"? How do I find what ACS questions went into that table?

Thanks

Gene

Parents
  • The questions are here: https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/acs/methodology/questionnaires/2022/quest22GQ.pdf  I am not a census expert like others on this forum. But I think Medicaid is publicly covered which is means-tested (you have to qualify). So as usual they make it more complicated than it is. Question 16 asks about Medicaid, that's it.  So they just wanted to highlight what Medicaid is (means-tested public coverage). But Medicaid is Medicaid even with a slightly complicated name.  So, check the questions first and generally you can figure it out. Otherwise, the experts here can help.

• Hi Tom

Thanks very much for responding. I was really asking which questions went into constructing table c27007. For example question 16 has parts about various health insurances, so I don't know whether any of the others were used for this table.

• Yeah, a "means-tested" program is a program for low-income people or low-income households. I think of it this way: do you have means to afford this thing (health care, transit, food, etc.), if yes, you probably don't qualify; if no, there might be a program for you.

Also, I want to expand on what Tom was saying for Medicaid going by different names. Medicaid is run by the states, and it has all kinds of names. For example, in California, it goes by the name of Medi-Cal. The name Medicaid might not resonate with participants in the Medi-Cal program who are responding to ACS.

As far as Table C27007, yes, question 16 is used for the Health Insurance part of it. But this table also has breakdowns by sex and by age, so questions 2 and 3 (sex and age/date of birth) also had to be used in order for Census to tabulate the data this way.

• Diana