Microdata questions

Hi all! I have a lot of experience using ACS data through data.census.gov and have recently started trying to learn how to use microdata to answer some more detailed research questions. I can do basic tabulations through MDAT (e.g., finding the number of 3-year-olds who live in poverty) but am getting a little stumped at how to answer more detailed questions that have both household-level characteristics and person-level characteristics. (For example, how many households in X state have both an infant under age 1 AND a 3-year-old?). Is this type of question answerable through MDAT or through microdata in general? If so, are there resources you would recommend to build more sophisticated skills in using ACS microdata?

Thanks so much for any insights you can offer!

Sarah

Parents
  • IPUMS USA offers data from the American Community Survey and decennial census harmonized across time and space. Our version of the PUMS is easy to use, has consistent codes for all samples, and we also provide detailed technical documentation and learning resources for users. This video tutorial is a good introduction to how to create a custom data extract from IPUMS USA—a data file that includes just the sample(s) and variables you want. We also have an online data analysis tool that’s great for simple tabulations, but to create the types of variables you’ve described here, you will need to create a data extract and analyze the data in a stats package like R, Stata, SPSS, or SAS.