Estimate of Type of Unit (TYPE) Results in a value of 0 for Institutional & Non-Institutional GQ.

This is my first time using ACS PUMS data and I am trying to create an estimate of the Type of Unit variable from the housing file(s) of the 2015 1-yr ACS. I am using the a, b, and Puerto Rico files (ss15husa.csv, ss15husb.csv, ss15hpr.csv). I am using R with Thomas Lumley's survey package.

When I calculate the raw tabulation of the variable TYPE I get the results below indicating that there are records for all three types (Housing, Ins. GQ, and Non-Ins GQ) of units.

1                       2            3
1363661   71728    77922

However, when I run the svytotal function on the housing survey design object I created I get zeroes for the gq levels:

> svytotal(~factor(TYPE), hou_prof_design)
                                total           SE
factor(TYPE)1 136367197    5089.4
factor(TYPE)2                 0          0.0
factor(TYPE)3                 0          0.0

This doesn't make sense and am looking for some advice on how to rectify. A colleague of mine has suggested that I use the person weight but I am unclear on how to associate the person weights for the records in the housing file that correspond to the gq levels in the TYPE variable. Any help will be greatly appreciated it.

Parents
  • I have two responses...
    The immediate, practical comment is that you can join the person and household records by st and serialno to get person weight attached to the housing record. (Note: you'd also need to add additional processing to make sure that you're counting housing units only once, because joining housing and person records will "expand" the housing records for each person in a household.)

The bigger picture response requires more discussion.
    Could you please provide a bit more context about your goal with this analysis? What are you trying to accomplish by defining housing and group quarters "types?"