Estimate of Type of Unit (TYPE) Results in a value of 0 for Institutional & Non-Institutional GQ.

This is my first time using ACS PUMS data and I am trying to create an estimate of the Type of Unit variable from the housing file(s) of the 2015 1-yr ACS. I am using the a, b, and Puerto Rico files (ss15husa.csv, ss15husb.csv, ss15hpr.csv). I am using R with Thomas Lumley's survey package.

When I calculate the raw tabulation of the variable TYPE I get the results below indicating that there are records for all three types (Housing, Ins. GQ, and Non-Ins GQ) of units.

1                       2            3
1363661   71728    77922

However, when I run the svytotal function on the housing survey design object I created I get zeroes for the gq levels:

> svytotal(~factor(TYPE), hou_prof_design)
                                total           SE
factor(TYPE)1 136367197    5089.4
factor(TYPE)2                 0          0.0
factor(TYPE)3                 0          0.0

This doesn't make sense and am looking for some advice on how to rectify. A colleague of mine has suggested that I use the person weight but I am unclear on how to associate the person weights for the records in the housing file that correspond to the gq levels in the TYPE variable. Any help will be greatly appreciated it.

Parents
  • Hi,

A few thoughts:

1. if the svytotal command in R pulls in the "wgtp" (housing weight) variable, it is 00000 for group quarters because it's a placeholder (see www2.census.gov/.../PUMSDataDict15.pdf, pages 1-31 has all the Housing Unit variables). If you're wondering, "Why is the housing weight zero for group quarters?" it's because the ACS isn't trying to capture characteristics of group quarters the same way it does try to capture characteristics of housing units (e.g., plumbing, heating, rent/housing value, internet access). The ACS does capture characteristics of the people who live in group quarters.