Calculating household incomes when household and person files are merged

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the ACS Data Users Group and very excited to be a part of it! What an incredible wealth of resources. 

I actually have a challenge that I've been running into while using PUMS. I've been using FactFinder for years, but have only started using PUMS in the last six months, so please forgive my lack of knowledge. 

We (my research center, Boston Indicators at the Boston Foundation) are trying to find the average (either mean or median) income of same-sex couples in Massachusetts disaggregated by race and ethnicity. This is not possible through FactFinder or other ACS sources (like NHGIS) that pre-can tables. So, we thought we'd use PUMS to get at this problem. The best we think we can do is finding the race/ethnicity of the primary householder of same-sex couples, which is not ideal, but still better than nothing. 

One challenge, as I'm sure you've run across in your own work, was that the desired data was recorded in two different datasets. Data on same-sex couples and household income is in the household record while data on race and ethnicity is in the person record. We solved for this by doing a simple merge of the data and then subsetting to include only people who are primary householders (or, in PUMS' lingo, the "reference person"). So, theoretically, we should have a dataset of primary householders that includes: the primary householder's race/ethnicity, same-sex couples, and household income.