PUMAs in the Greater Boston MSA

Hi!

So I am not american and I'm trying to understand how the american census type data from the ACS works (total newbie about it). I pulled the 2017 ACS 1-year estimate for the whole US.

But I am specifically interested in the Greater Boston Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) (or the Boston–Cambridge–Newton, MA–NH MSA). Now I would like to know what are the PUMAs (Public Use Microdata Areas) for this specific MSA so I can extract only data for this region from the dataset. My problem is I am unable to find that information anywhere.

I can find the names of the counties that are part of the MSA on wikipedia and try to get the list of PUMAs from this names reference PDF:

https://www2.census.gov/geo/pdfs/reference/puma/2010_PUMA_Names.pdf?# (page 20)

But a lot of the names in there are ambiguous and I would prefer to have an official list than guessing from a wikipedia page. I was able to find a list of FIPS place codes for the Greater Boston MSA, but as I understand it FIPS and PUMAs are not convertible into each other.

It looks like this website manages to do it though:

https://censusreporter.org/profiles/31000US14460-boston-cambridge-newton-ma-nh-metro-area/

So I assume this information is out there somewhere.

Is there a list somewhere of what PUMAs are in the Greater Boston MSA?

Thank you very much for your help!

Jean-Baptiste.

Parents
  • Hi Jean-Baptiste -

I agree with Cliff's suggestions.

I would also add: If you are looking for just a list of PUMAs, you may want to try the Geocorr application
    mcdc.missouri.edu/.../geocorr2014.html