Using ACS 5-year estimates to examine social, economic, and housing characteristics BY Race/ethnicity for small city

Hi All,

I'm new to using census and ACS data and am hoping someone can help me navigate the data. I'm trying to find data for a small town (population ~21,000) on various social, economic, and housing characteristics by "Race."

Here is what I've done: I have found a few data tables by starting off with an advanced search in data.census.gov, selecting the Geography, then selecting Place and the specific city (Northfield city, MN). Next, I select the "Surveys", and specifically the ACS 5-year estimates Subject Tables. These brings me to 55 results, some of which answer a few of my questions, but not all (for example, home ownership BY race; graduation BY race, etc). I am wondering if I am going about this the best way, or if there is another method to obtain the data I need. It looks like I can't use microdata/PUMS and other sources because I am looking at a very small specific geographic region.

Any advice would be helpful! Thanks in advance! 

Parents
  • Hi JBenson--

American Community Survey has about 1,200 discrete tables. It's a lot!
    For research pros who want to dig in, I usually advise obtaining the spreadsheet list (Excel format) of all the tables that are in the collection, with table ID numbers, and use that as a reference point for quickly finding the right table ID.
    For infrequent users of ACS, I instead advise : Start at the website censusreporter.org -- it's much easier to search AND FIND what one is looking for.  (Sorry, census.gov stalwarts.)
    So, again, there are a lot of tables. 
    • There are tables of "Educational Attainment" by race groups A, B, C, D, etc.  Find that described here censusreporter.org/.../
    • There are tables of "Tenure" (that is, Home Ownership vs Renting status) by race groups A, B, C, D, etc.  Find that described here censusreporter.org/.../